Indian Premier League: List of winners from 2008-2018


Indian Premier League: The IPL has been won by six different teams over the course of 11 editions. Here is a list of all those who have won the tournament and have featured in the final.

Chennai Super Kings will start the IPL 2019 as the defending champions

Chennai Super Kings will start the IPL 2019 as the defending champions. (IPL Photo)

The Indian Premier League began in 2008, a year after the Indian cricket team won the inaugural edition of the World T20 against Pakistan in a thrilling final. What started as an ambitious project 11 years ago, is now considered as the best Twenty20 league in the world.

Chennai Super Kings is the most successful IPL team, having won the tournament three times and having finished runners-up on four occasions. Mumbai Indians is the other team to have lifted the IPL title on three occasions while they have finished second once.

Shane Watson and Sunil Narine have both received the Player of the Series trophy twice in the tournament’s history and have been one of the most valuable players for their franchisees in the IPL.

As it is time for the 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League, we take a look at all the winners from the previous editions.


2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Shane Watson
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg Adam Gilchrist
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai Chris Gayle
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai Sunil Narine
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Shane Watson
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore Glenn Maxwell
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Andre Russell
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore Virat Kohli
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad Ben Stokes
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai Sunil Narine
Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *